Wednesday, September 20, 2017

Rep. Bill Shuster confirmed as chair of Transportation Committee

Monday, January 7, 2013
Shuster succeeds Rep. John Mica, R-Fla., who was term limited. (The Trucker file photo)
Shuster succeeds Rep. John Mica, R-Fla., who was term limited. (The Trucker file photo)

WASHINGTON — With the opening of the 113th Congress last week, Rep. Bill Shuster, R-Penn., was officially confirmed by the House of Representatives to chair the Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure.

Shuster succeeds Rep. John Mica, R-Fla., who was term limited.

“Working together, the Committee will focus on reforming programs and strengthening America’s transportation networks to make us more efficient, competitive, and prosperous,” Shuster said. “I am excited to get to get to work with a diverse team of returning and new members in the 113th Congress.”

Shuster also announced the full committee Republican membership.

In addition to Shuster and Mica, GOP members Don Young (Alaska), Thomas E.  Petri and Reid Ribble (Wis.), Howard  Coble and Mark Meadows (N.C.), John J. Duncan Jr. (Tenn.), Frank A.  LoBiondo, (N.J.), Gary Miller, Duncan Hunter and Jeff Denham (Calif.), Sam Graves (Mo.), Shelley Moore Capito (W.Va.), Candice Miller (Mich.), Andy Harris (Md.), Rick Crawford (Ark.), Lou Barletta and Scott Perry (Penn.), Blake Farenthold (Texas), Larry Bucshon (Ind.), Bob Gibbs (Ohio), Patrick Meehan (Penn.), Richard Hanna (N.Y.), Daniel Webster, Steve Southerland and Trey Radel  (Fla.), Thomas Massie (Ky.), Steve Daines (Mont.), Tom Rice (S.C.), Markwayne Mullin and

Rodney Davis (Ill.).





Ranking Member Nick J. Rahall, II, (W.Va.) announced Democrat members of the committee, including Peter A.DeFazio (Ore.), Eleanor Holmes Norton (District of Columbia), Jerrold Nadler, Timothy H. Bishop and Sean Patrick Maloney (N.Y.), Corrine Brown (Fla.), Eddie Bernice Johnson (Texas), Elijah E. Cummings, (Md.), Rick Larsen, (Wash.), Michael E. Capuano, (Mass.), Timothy H. Bishop, (N.Y.), Michael H. Michaud (Maine), Grace F. Napolitano, John Garamendi and Janice Hahn (Calif.), Daniel Lipinski (Ill.), Timothy J. Walz and Rick Nolan (Minn.), Steve Cohen, (Tenn.),Albio Sires (N.J.), Donna F. Edwards (Md.), John Garamendi, André Carson (Ind.), Ann Kirkpatrick (Ariz.), Dina Titus (Nev.), Elizabeth Esty (Conn.) Lois Frankel (Fla.) and Cheri Bustos (Ill.).

Subcommittee members will be announced later.

Subcommittees include Aviation, Coast Guard and Maritime Transportation, Economic Development, Public Buildings and Emergency Management, Highways and Transit,

Railroads, Pipelines and Hazardous Materials and Water Resources and Environment.

The Trucker staff can be reached to comment on this article at

Find more news and analysis from The Trucker, and share your thoughts, on Facebook.

Video Sponsors